Leaps and Bounds

“Leaps and bounds” might be a bit of a understatement. Since returning from GDC the team has been absolutely killing it in terms of progress on the game. The new HUD is in and functioning including 2D icons for powerups, the second level has bunsen burners and great art. The first level has been also art-reworked and Dan, one of the programmers, has been working with Chris the Lead Artist, to help surmount a hurdle that occurred with the new character animations a number of weeks ago. Now Chris can break down the animations into separate shots and put them in for hopefully this Wednesday’s QA. Everyone is incredibly excited for all of this.

Looking ahead, Ross [Lead Designer] and I looked at the requirements for the Beta Milestone this Wednesday and figured out what there is left/what we need to do. I also coordinated the recording of the interviews for the team demo reel with a DFM friend of mine, Curran. I talked to the team about who wanted to be in the video and it ended up being the 4 Leads: Ross, Tom, Chris and I. We set up everything in the library and I had the scripts on my laptop for reference. Everyone dressed up the same way we did for the end of the first semester presentation so everyone was uniform and looked professional. Everyone recorded multiple and we had a good time shooting everything, I think it was a good bonding experience for the four of us. I’m going to meet with Curran this upcoming Tuesday to go through the footage and do a preliminary cut to see where we are with timing etc.

Everyone is incredibly stoked about the games massive visual updates, and I have the most optimistic thoughts moving ahead.

Leave a comment